Connect with us


2023 Gwangju Biennale names first 58 participating artists –



Ahead of its opening next April, the 2023 Gwangju Biennale has named the first 58 artists (out of a total of 80) to display their work as part of the exhibition, organized by Tate Modern Museum Chief Curator Sook-Kyung Lee under the title “Soft and Frail as Water”.

Among the artists set to participate, some of the most closely watched artists today include Farah Al Qasimi, Maria Magdalena Campos Pons, Latifa Eshakhsh, Sky Hobinka, Kristen Sun Kim, Minjong Kim, Tanya Luken Linklater, Guadalupe Maravilla, Noe Martinez, Alan Michelson, Vivian Sutter, and Alberta Whittle, as well as late artists such as Emily Cam Kangwarri, Lucia Nogueira, and Kim Lim.

Related Articles

Three Asian men wearing face masks

When selecting the artist list, Lee also focused on highlighting the work of Korean artists from different generations, such as Chang Jia, Lee Seung-taek and Oh Yoon, as well as international artists working with Gwangju history, such as Soungui Kim, Alisa Nissenbaum, and the Bangrok Sulab collective. , which will look at the lasting legacy of the city’s May 18 democratic uprising. Additional areas of focus include “artists who speak with lived experiences,” “artists rethinking traditions,” and “underrepresented women artists.”

As part of the announcement, the Biennale also revealed that the exhibition will explore four different sub-themes:luminous aura He places the Gwangju Spirit as a source of inspiration and a model of resistance and solidarity; Grandparents’ voices highlights transnational artistic approaches to engaging and interpreting tradition to ask questions and challenge modernist ideas; Transitional Sovereignty examines the ways in which artistic thinking developed in ...-colonial and colonial period in relation to issues such as immigration and diaspora; And the Planetary times It explores the potential and limits of a “planetary vision” on environmental and environmental justice,” according to the release.

The current list of participating artists follows below.

Larry Achampong
Abbas brothers
Farah Al Qasimi
Tarek Atwi
Bakhit Bubikanova
Maria Magdalena Campos Pons
Zhang Jia
nice clown
James T. Hong
Sky Hobinka
Huong Dudenh
Tess Garay
Kang Yeon Geun
Niza Khan
Yuki Kihara
Kristen Sun Kim
Kira Kim
Kim Colim
Minjong Kim
Sunggi Kim
Emily Cami Kingwarri
Miro Koizumi
Abdullah Konate
Sheila Kumari Singh Borman
Lee Kun Young
Lee Sung Taek
Kim Lim
Candice Lynn
Tania Luken Linklater
Liu Jianhua
Guadalupe Maravilla
Noy Martinez
Mata Aho Collective
Alan Mickelson
Malgorzata Mirja Tas
Naim Muhaimin
Yoko Mehri
Betty Muffler
Elisa Nissenbaum
Lucia Nogueira
Oh Seok Kwon
oh yoon
Jeong-sun’s mom
Bangrok Sulab
Sophie Beach
Taiki Sakpisit
improve my staseri
Dianita Singh
Puhlbezoi Siwani
Vivian Sutter
Yoo Jeon
tarot day
Sharui Tsai
Judy Watson
Alberta Whittle
Robert Chao Renhui
David Zink Ye

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)